199 Results
Literary Form
199 Results
Lifeboat 12 —Hood, Susan, 1954- author.

In 1940, a group of British children, their escorts, and some sailors struggle to survive in a lifeboat when the ship taking them to safety in Canada is torpedoed. Includes historical notes.

The deepest breath —Grehan, Meg, author.

Struggling with her feelings for a female classmate, an eleven-year-old Irish girl tries to confide in her mother, the person she trusts most in the world.

Caravan to the north : Misael's long walk —Argueta, Jorge, author.

"This novel in verse is a powerful first-person account of Misael Martínez, a Salvadoran boy whose family joins the caravan heading north to the United States. We learn all the different reasons why people feel the need...

Our corner store —Heidbreder, Robert, author.

"Race you to our corner grocery store! Stanstones corner store is the heart of the neighborhood for the brother and sister in this story. They help to close the store every Saturday and save their pennies to buy candy. T...

Closer to nowhere —Hopkins, Ellen, author.

Told in two voices, sixth-grade cousins Hannah and Cal learn a lot about family when circumstances throw them together under one roof and Hannah's love of order clashes with Cal's chaotic behavior.

I heart you, you haunt me —Schroeder, Lisa.

When Ava's boyfriend Jackson dies she is heartbroken, but now he's back from the dead as proof that love knows no bounds.

House without walls : May 19, 1979 to June 7, 1980 —Russell, Ching Yeung, author.

Eleven-year-old Lam, her brothers, and other ethnic Chinese flee Vietnam in 1979, embarking on a long and perilous journey toward a refugee camp, where Lam finds new hope and happiness. Includes historical notes, glossar...

People kill people —Hopkins, Ellen, author.

Follows six teenagers as they are brought into close contact over the course of one tense week, in a town with political and personal tensions that build until one fires a fatal gunshot.

Other words for home —Warga, Jasmine, author.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 1 of 1

"A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her...

The opposite of innocent —Sones, Sonya, author.

"Poignant and chilling by turns, The Opposite of Innocent is award-winning author Sonya Sones's most gripping novel in verse yet. It's the story of a girl named Lily, who's been crushing on a man named Luke, a friend of ...

The geography of girlhood —Smith, Kirsten.

A novel written in verse follows Penny Morrow in her transition from middle school to high school as her father remarries, she acquires a new stepbrother, and she experiences her first dance, first kiss, and other hazard...

Flooded : requiem for Johnstown —Burg, Ann E., author.

On May 31, 1889, the South Fork Dam built to create a man-made lake for America's wealthiest businessmen collapsed, unleashing twenty million tons of water onto the town of Johnstown, Pennsylvania, below; told in the voi...

Being Toffee —Crossan, Sarah, author.

Allison runs away and, in what she thinks is an abandoned house, finds a home with Marla, an elderly woman with dementia who believes her to be an old friend named Toffee.

Karma : a novel in verse —Ostlere, Cathy.

In 1984, following her mother's suicide, 15-year-old Maya and her Sikh father travel to New Delhi from Canada to place her mother's ashes in their final resting place. On the night of their arrival, Prime Minister Indir...

Wishes, dares, & how to stand up to a bully —Jacobson, Darlene Beck, author.

"This poignant novel in verse crystallizes a boy's worries about his father, MIA in Vietnam. His family, new best friend, and a bully unexpectedly all help Jack find the courage to do the right thing, not the easy thing....

Burying the moon —Poulin, Andrée, author.

In Latika's village in rural India, there are no toilets. No toilets mean that the women have to wait until night to do their business in a field. There are scorpions and snakes in the field, and germs that make people s...

Rez dogs —Bruchac, Joseph, 1942- author.

"Twelve-year-old Malian lives with her grandparents on a Wabanaki reservation during the COVID-19 pandemic"-- Provided by publisher.

Clap when you land —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 1 of 1

Sixteen-year-olds Camino Rios, of the Dominican Republic, and Yahaira Rios, of New York City, are devastated to learn of their father's death in a plane crash and stunned to learn of each other's existence. A novel in ve...

1 2 3 4 ...