3 Results
Literary Form
3 Results
In praise of retreat : finding sanctuary in the modern world —MacLeod, Kirsteen, author.

"For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker's Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure. An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat - where we go, why w...

The point of vanishing : a memoir of two years in solitude —Axelrod, Howard, 1973- author.

"On a clear May afternoon at the end of his junior year at Harvard, Howard Axelrod left his dorm-room to play a pick-up game of basketball. In the skirmish for a loose ball, a boy's finger hooked behind Axelrod's eyeball...

Solitude a return to the self —Storr, Anthony.
Restricted DAISY Zip (CELA)
2012

The author takes issue with the view that intimate relationships are the exclusive source and measure of mental and personal satisfaction. He reasons that many creative people work alone and that voluntary and enforced s...

1